Testimonials from other Jewtor students

Have a look at the kind testimonials here from our students. As a Hebrew tutor, a bar/bat mitzvah tutor, and a tutor of synagogue skills, we work at Jewtor with each student to help them learn what they want and need to know. We do online bar/bat mitzvah lessons, online Hebrew lessons, and more.

Jewtor – Online Bar/Bat Mitzvah Tutoring, Hebrew Tutoring, Torah and Haftarah Tutor
Jewtor – Online Bar/Bat Mitzvah Tutoring, Hebrew Tutoring, Torah and Haftarah Tutor
18 Google reviews
Robert Azerad
Robert Azerad
March 31, 2023.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
I highly recommend Jewtor as a bar mitzvah tutor. She did such an amazing job teaching my son his parasha and haftorah that he was confident and poised on his big day and was able to leyn without a mistake. Not only that but my son really enjoyed working with her and told me that he was very sad when his lessons ended.
Julio O
Julio O
December 4, 2022.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
Our son was phenomenal! Thank you so much Bettina for the patience, wisdom, passion and love you put into teaching! Bettina was amazing and our son was ready for what lay ahead thanks to her tutoring. We had our son’s Bar Mitzvah scheduled for November 2021 in Jerusalem but then COVID restrictions struck hard. We had to cancel our trip and our son had to learn a new Torah portion. He didn’t complain and took the bull by the horns! Bettina was there every step of the way and helped him get a new parsha ready. Fast forward to last month, November 2022 in Jerusalem, our son was superb, and we couldn’t be prouder!!! We are so grateful we found Bettina and we highly recommend her to anyone considering a Bar/Bat Mitzvah tutor. All the best!
Andrew Harrison
Andrew Harrison
November 20, 2022.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
Bettina tutored me for my adult bar mitzvah this year and I was 100% prepared. Working with Bettina is fun and she makes learning Hebrew approachable and productive. Her teaching style is relaxed yet focused and I really enjoyed the entire process. I’m continuing to work with Bettina to learn conversational Hebrew and it’s equally enjoyable. I enthusiastically recommend Bettina to anyone looking to prepare for their bar/bat mitzvahs as well as more generally learning to read Hebrew and Torah.
Lisa Preston
Lisa Preston
June 13, 2022.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
For various and sundry reasons, including the fact that my son’s Hebrew reading was not very fluent, he got started late working on his maftir and haftarah for his bar mitzvah. I went looking online for a tutor and found Bettina. Instead of an hour once a week, she kindly agreed to two half hour sessions a week, which was more in line with my son’s attention span. She got his Hebrew reading up to speed and despite our initial plans for him to only do half of the haftarah, she insisted he was capable of more and she was right. He now knows his entire maftir and haftarah which is due in large part to her patience as well as her pushing for us not to underestimate him. I would like to thank her publicly here and would highly recommend her to anyone who needs tutoring.
karen Shirar
karen Shirar
June 12, 2022.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
She is the best; a very patient teacher. If you are a slow language learner, she can help you! I am an American, raised WASP (So zero knowledge starting), thick southern accent, attention deficit disorder AND I have snow vision (Neurological brain defect affecting sight.) If she has the patience to work with me, she can help anybody! Her lessons are always a joy and a break from monotony of day to day life.
Rabbi Jason Miller
Rabbi Jason Miller
March 18, 2022.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
As a rabbi, I'm so grateful to Jewtor. Bettina's students who have celebrated their bar/bat mitzvah with me have been extremely well prepared. Even more important, they have reported to me that their Hebrew tutoring experience with her was fun and valuable. I'm glad to work together with Jewtor, helping so many Jewish teens celebrate their bar/bat mitzvah.
Laura Thompson
Laura Thompson
November 4, 2021.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
Bettina is terrific! She worked with our son during Covid to get him ready for his bar mitzvah, which we finally held in person a few weeks ago. This may say it all: At one point during the service, I turned to my husband and said "Who is that kid?" He read Torah so incredibly, we had no idea! Bettina is kind, compassionate, and really knows how to get a child prepared for this important life celebration. She helped him understand many aspects of Judaism from the history to spiritual traditions. And all the while teaching him to read and speak Hebrew. Bettina has got bar mitzvah prep down pat! And we will definitely miss her. But couldn't have asked for a better tutor.
Marc Abusch
Marc Abusch
September 20, 2021.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
We have entrusted our son’s religious instruction including Hebrew lessons with Bettina. It is a decision we have never regretted and encourage others to put their trust in her. Her teaching style is very nurturing and encouraging which has helped to build my son’s confidence in reading Hebrew. Religion is a very personal path and we are happy that Bettina has helped our son on this path. Our son recently became a Bar-Mitzvah with the help of Bettina. Her extensive knowledge and teaching style has made this a very meaningful experience for our son. We hope that she is given the opportunity to reach many more youth looking to explore their Jewish path.
Eli Zysman-Colman
Eli Zysman-Colman
February 23, 2021.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
My son is taking Hebrew lessons. Bettina is very calm and helpful and provides very clear explanations to questions that are asked. My son loves his lessons, which he takes remotely via Google Hangout.
Pylyp Zolotarov
Pylyp Zolotarov
January 25, 2021.
Trustindex verifies that the original source of the review is Google.
Before I started my lessons with Bettina the cantilation marks  were something mysterious for me and impossible to comprehend. Bettina is a wonderful teacher and after working with her for a few months all those inigmatic signs began to make sense and reveal their secrets. Not to mention that Bettina is very musical,  creative and smart. If you want to be motivated and look forward to each lesson I would definitely recommend Bettina! Learning to chant Thora with Bettina is fun!

Hebrew tutor testimonials

“I decided to resume my study of Hebrew after a hiatus of over 45 years, the period between the end of 11 years of Hebrew School and this past Spring….Although I had previously attempted studying Hebrew again on numerous occasions during both my undergraduate and graduate studies and even afterwards, my efforts never lasted more than a well-intentioned semester. This past year has been different….Bettina is a very motivating teacher. She is patient yet exacting when it comes to pronunciation and grammar….She is also able to make all kinds of connections between areas that I, as an adult learner, find both helpful and meaningful: she has extensive knowledge of both the Hebrew Bible and the various Jewish prayer services, and through immediate recall of biblical and liturgical passages she can illustrate the grammar and vocabulary being studied….Her personal experiences with multiple languages give her insight into the language learning process of her students, with a special appreciation of any difficulties they might encounter. She is thus both rigorous and compassionate in her attitude, demanding yet reasonable and flexible in her expectations….This past summer we worked on the Book of Ruth and the Book of Esther….Bettina has continued teaching me long distance over the phone. This past fall we finished the Book of Esther and then studied the Book of Jonah, followed by a review of chapters 8 through 10 of Brandeis Modern Hebrew. For our current lessons, Bettina has been teaching me Megillat Esther tropes so that I can chant chapter 4 at next month’s Purim services.” – K.

“I turned to Bettina to tutor our daughter in overall Judaic Studies and Hebrew when I wanted a more in-depth Jewish education. I wasn’t really sure which direction to take, and after learning about [my daughter’s] educational background, Bettina suggested and developed a comprehensive framework which incorporated modern Hebrew, the weekly parsha, Jewish and Israeli history. Bettina has a real knack for teaching children – understanding the importance of using different tools to engage and inspire her students: singing, discussion, stories, movement, and even internet research were just some of the mediums which Bettina used to teach both language and difficult theological concepts at age appropriate levels. It was very clear to me that Bettina put in much time and effort to prepare for the weekly lessons and made the most of the one-hour sessions. Most importantly, however, my daughter always looked forward to her time with Bettina, who made learning seamless and fun.” – Ellen

“I felt very comfortable during our classes. Bettina is very knowledgeable and a very good teacher.” – David

Bar/Bat Mitzvah tutor testimonials

“I can’t thank Bettina enough for giving my daughter the foundation of a Jewish education and preparing her for her Bat Mitzvah. Bettina was able to create a curriculum that fit our background and provided guidance on her becoming a Bat Mitzvah. We are bit of a complex family as we are an inter-racial family with one Jewish parent (my husband has always been supportive of having a Jewish home and raising our daughter Jewish). We didn’t belong to a synagogue, so we were also unsure of what her Bat Mitzvah would be.
In 14 months, Bettina got her reading Hebrew and taught her the Torah, Jewish history and prayers – she also taught her what it means to be a mensch and prepared her to receive an aliyah for her Bat Mitzvah. For us, this was the perfect Bat Mitzvah!
Bettina is a wonderful teacher, great with children and easy to work with. She makes the online lessons fun, interesting and engaging with music, poetry and art. My daughter looked forward to her lessons each week and really enjoyed her time with Bettina.” – Adena

“Bettina worked tirelessly with my 13-year-old son in the final months of his bar mitzvah preparations. She literally saved the day in tutoring him in Hebrew, helping him to prepare his d’var Torah, and working with him on his blessings. Jonah adored his classes with her. She provoked his thinking with humour, compassion, intelligence and respect. She was also very easy to work with in regard to logistics. All in all, we are deeply grateful for Bettina’s help and would recommend her without hesitation.” – Alexandra

Adult Bat Mitzvah testimonials

“I want to thank you for teaching me how to lein (chant) Torah. You are a great teacher and I love learning from you. You turned me into a star Torah leiner. You are the ‘Gold Standard’ with a clear, beautiful voice, and I will always be grateful for the honor of learning from you. When I lein Torah, my Rabbi and Congregants come up and tell me how beautifully I lein and how moved they are, and that is because of you. I encourage anyone with a desire to lein Torah to learn from the very best. Thank you always.” – Barbara

Other Jewish tutoring testimonials

“I appreciate how you always used every resource to teach me, and that you were always kind and patient with my many stumblings. Any student is very lucky to have you for a teacher.” – Susan

    If you're ready to start your Jewish learning program, contact us. There's no obligation. We're just an email away.

    Your Name

    Your Email (so we can write back to you)

    Your Phone (so we can call you)

    What would you like to learn?

    Anything else you'd like us to know?